The Chomp

The Student News Site of Gateway Regional High School

The Chomp

The Student News Site of Gateway Regional High School

The Chomp

The Student News Site of Gateway Regional High School

Taylor Swift Re-Records 1989

Why This is Important and What You Can Expect

On August 9th, 2023 the last concert of the first US leg of the famous Eras Tour, Taylor Swift announced that she was going to re-record 1989, one of her most famous albums.

She announced this one month after she released Speak Now Taylor’s Version. Now, you may be asking why does she do this?

Her first six albums: Taylor Swift, Fearless, Speak Now, Red, 1989, and Reputation, were all made under Big Machine Records. Scooter Braun later bought the company in June 2019.

Braun then sold her first 6 albums to an investment firm, and he now makes money off of them. She then decided to re-record her albums so her music can, “live on”.

Everyone knows her songs “Shake It Off” and “Blank Space”, but here is the list of songs that will remain on this album:

  1. “Welcome To New York”
  2. “Blank Space”
  3. “Style”
  4. “Out of the Woods”
  5. “All you Had To Do Was Stay”
  6. “Shake It Off”
  7. “I Wish You Would”
  8. “Bad Blood”
  9. “Wildest Dreams”
  10. “How You Get the Girl”
  11. “This Love”
  12. “I Know Places”

She also released a Deluxe Version of 1989, these songs will also remain on the album.

  1. “Clean”
  2. “Wonderland”
  3. “You Are In Love”
  4. “New Romantics”

She also adds “Vault Tracks” to her re-releases. These are basically songs that she wanted to release on the original album but never did:

  1. “Say Don’t Go”
  2. “Now That We Don’t Talk”
  3. “Suburban Legends”
  4. “Is It Over Now?

The Taylor’s Version of this album was released on October 27th. She has already made Taylor’s Versions (Singles) of “This Love” and “Wildest Dreams.” This is why when you listen to the songs, you may see they have a different album cover.

Target released a Tangerine Version of this album. It includes a bonus track called “Sweeter Than Fiction”. As of now, this song is only on the Tangerine Version of the album. She also released a Deluxe Version of the album. She only added one song, this song is “Bad Blood feat. Kendrick Lamar.” This song is an alternate version of her song “Bad Blood.”

You can listen to this album on Apple Music, Spotify, Amazon Music, YouTube, Vinyls, CDS, and more! Give it a listen!

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Chomp

Your donation will support the student journalists of Gateway Regional High School. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Riley DeFrank
Riley DeFrank, Staff Writer
My name is Riley DeFrank! I’m an eighth grader at Gateway, and this is my first year writing for The Chomp. I enjoy baking, reading, playing softball, watching sports, and listening to Taylor Swift. I’m the president of Middle School Student Council, and I am also in Builders Club, Baking and Cooking Club, and Spirit Club.
Donate to The Chomp

Comments (0)

All The Chomp Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *